Auto insurance provides liability, medical, and property coverage. Washington State law requires liability coverage, however, there are other coverages you may also want to consider. Washington State auto insurance laws require that all drivers have a minimum of bodily injury protection. This protects you from any injury or damage you cause to other drivers.
Depending on your needs, you may consider purchasing additional insurance. Your liability coverage will be activated if a family member drives your vehicle or if you have given someone else permission to use it. It's also likely to cover you if you're in an accident in a rental car. This is the bare minimum of car insurance and is required by law if you own and operate a car in Washington.
When an insured driver is responsible for an accident, liability insurance covers the other driver's expenses. The best auto insurance companies in Washington balance affordability with quality coverage and strong customer service. Penalties for uninsured driving in Washington include fines and the suspension of your driver's license. Drivers with many traffic violations or DUIs on their record may struggle to find insurance in Washington State.
A comprehensive coverage policy from one insurance provider can exclude hail damage, while a comprehensive coverage policy from another insurance provider can cover hail damage. The types of auto insurance that follow the car in Washington are bodily injury liability, personal injury liability, collision and comprehensive. The information provided is intended to give a general and basic idea of car insurance coverage in Washington State. For insurance companies, it's similar to a bad driving record, so drivers who let their insurance expire for 60 days pay about 12% more than the average premium in Washington.
It's always a risk to lend your car to someone else, because you could definitely end up filing a claim with your own insurance in Washington. In addition, if you drive a leased vehicle or have an auto loan, your lender may require you to have full coverage insurance to protect your investment. The consequences of driving without insurance are ultimately more costly than buying minimal car insurance coverage. This insurance also covers you if the other driver doesn't have enough insurance to pay for all damages.
If your insurance company doesn't renew your auto policy, it must give you 20 days' notice before the non-renewal date takes effect. If you are in an accident while driving without insurance in Washington, you will be cited and all penalties for driving without insurance will apply, no matter who is at fault.