Driving without insurance is not recommended in Washington. Washington's insurance law doesn't require its resident drivers to purchase uninsured motorist coverage, Nolo says. In the event that you are discovered driving without insurance in Washington and you are in an accident, you will be liable to pay for collision damages. Washington State does not currently have an online insurance verification system, which means drivers must carry proof of insurance with them every time they are driving.
For insurance companies, it's similar to a bad driving record, so drivers who let their insurance expire for 60 days pay about 12% more than the average premium in Washington. Laura, a former insurance producer, understands that education is key when it comes to buying insurance. The consequences of driving without insurance are ultimately more costly than buying minimal car insurance coverage. At fault drivers in Washington who want insurance to cover their vehicle repair bills can purchase collision coverage for their car.
You can check out WalletHub's picks of the cheapest car insurance companies in Washington to compare your options. Law enforcement officers may assume that you don't have car insurance if you can't provide any proof of car insurance when they stop you on the road. Read on to learn the details of Washington's auto insurance rules, how coverage is likely to affect a car accident case, and the types of penalties you can expect if you are driving without insurance in Washington State. You'll also find that your insurance rates increase accordingly with each violation, so it's better to look for affordable insurance now than look for coverage when the cost is much higher.
An SR-22 is a form that an insurer submits to the state to prove that a driver has the legally required amount of insurance. If you have an existing insurance policy, your auto insurance company may have a grace period of 0 to 30 days after the payment is due, giving you the opportunity to pay your premium and avoid a lapse in coverage. But most states require you to give up or destroy your license plates before you leave your insurance coverage to avoid fines for driving without insurance. This information may be different from what you see when you visit the website of an insurance provider, insurance agency, or insurance company.